L’histoire de sardo

Notre Vision

C’est simple: Sardo Foods aime fournir aux familles canadiennes des spécialités européennes authentiques, en particulier nos produits à base d’olives de renommée mondiale. Pendant des décennies, nous avons présenté au marché nord-américain les saveurs diverses et explosives des olives méditerranéennes, de Cerignola à Castelvetrano, en leur donnant un véritable goût de la délicatesse italienne.

S'inspirant du passé - des souvenirs d'enfance de Mario dans le jardin d'oliviers siciliens de ses parents - et des influences du palais nord-américain moderne, Sardo Foods a élaboré un menu de collations et d'antipasti savoureux et sains, appréciés de tout âge.

Chaque produit de Sardo Foods est inspiré de nos valeurs fondamentales: qualité, goût, culture et valeur. Notre objectif n'est pas seulement de satisfaire nos clients, mais également de les maintenir enthousiasmés par les nouveaux produits innovants conçus par les visionnaires de la cuisine chez Sardo Foods.

Ma famille a investi toute sa vie dans la quête passionnée de l'excellence dans la gastronomie méditerranéenne et nous sommes fiers de partager cet amour avec vous. Nous vous remercions de votre soutien et espérons que vous apprécierez.

Buon appetito!

À propos de nous

Passionné de nourriture. Dédié à la qualité. Pour les générations

Cela a commencé dans un marché en plein air en Italie.

Pendant son séjour dans son pays d'origine, Mario Sardo et son fils Oliver se sont promenés dans un marché de rue très fréquenté, parcourant les rangées de vendeurs dans l'espoir de trouver la source d'un arôme attrayant.

En découvrant un marchand d’olives, Mario a été impressionné par la variété incroyable et le bel arrangement, une chose qui manquait dans les supermarchés canadiens.

«À l'époque, la plupart des Nord-Américains ne connaissaient que l'olive verte et l'olive noire», explique Mario Sardo. Mario et son épouse Joan souhaitaient apporter une variété authentique et savoureuse à l’étranger afin que les Canadiens puissent découvrir la vraie délicatesse des olives méditerranéennes.

Mario a ramené l’idée en Ontario, où il a réorganisé leur société d’importation de produits alimentaires pour se concentrer spécifiquement sur ce minuscule fruit acidulé de la Méditerranée. Il a inventé le concept de «table d'olivier», qu'il a présenté à l'un de leurs clients les plus importants et les plus anciens, qui l'a immédiatement séduit, à l'instar des clients de tout le pays.

Aujourd'hui, près d'un demi-siècle après ce voyage fatidique sur le marché en plein air en Italie, Sardo Foods est l'un des plus importants fournisseurs de marques de distributeur et de fabricants canadiens d'olives de qualité et d'antipasti. En constante évolution en ajoutant de nouvelles innovations à sa gamme de produits, comme des collations aux olives adaptées aux enfants et des condiments uniques de style européen, la famille Sardo a créé un héritage à travers l’Amérique du Nord en tant qu’autorité des olives.

Passionnée par le désir de donner à ses clients un véritable goût de la Méditerranée, Sardo Foods conçoit ses produits pour rappeler la saveur authentique des mets d'outre-mer, mais les fait également travailler avec le palais nord-américain légèrement différent. C’est le meilleur des deux mondes - et avec l’engagement de Sardo de s’approprier ses fruits auprès d’agriculteurs durables, il est également le meilleur pour notre monde.

The Sardo Story

Our Vision

It’s simple: Sardo Foods loves providing Canadian families with authentic European delicacies, especially our world-renowned olive products. For decades, we have introduced the North American market to the diverse and explosive flavours of Mediterranean olives, from Cerignola to Castelvetrano, giving them a true taste of the Italian delicacy.

Pulling inspiration from the past - Mario's own childhood memories in his parents’ Sicilian olive grove - and influences from the modern North American palate, Sardo Foods has crafted a menu of scrumptious and wholesome snacks and antipasti that are loved by all ages.

Each Sardo Foods product is instilled with our core values: quality, taste, culture and value. Our goal is not only to keep our customers satisfied, but also to keep them excited by the new and innovative products crafted by the culinary visionaries at Sardo Foods.

My family has invested a lifetime into the passionate pursuit of excellence in fine Mediterranean food, and we're proud to share this love with you. We thank you for your support and hope you enjoy.

Buon appetito!

About Us

Passionate about food. Dedicated to quality. For generations

It began in an open-air market in Italy.

While on vacation in his home country, Mario Sardo and his son Oliver strolled through a busy street market, scanning the rows of vendors in hopes of finding the source of an enticing aroma.

Upon discovering an olive merchant, Mario was impressed by the incredible variety and beautiful arrangement - something that was missing from Canada’s own supermarkets back home.

“Back then, most North Americans only knew of the green olive and the black olive,” explains Mario Sardo. Mario and his wife Joan wanted to bring the authentic and flavourful variety overseas so that Canadians could experience the true delicacy of Mediterranean olives.

Mario took the idea back to Ontario, where he revamped their food importing company to focus specifically on that tiny, tart Mediterranean fruit. He invented the concept of the “olive table,” pitching it to one of their largest and longtime clients, who fell in love with the concept immediately - as did customers across the country.

Today, almost half a century after that fateful trip to the open-air market in Italy, Sardo Foods is one of Canada’s largest private label suppliers and manufacturers of fine Mediterranean-grown olives and antipasti. Constantly evolving by adding new innovations to its roster of products, like kid-friendly olive snacks and unique European-style condiments, the Sardo family has created a legacy across North America as the olive authority.

Passionate about giving customers a true taste of the Mediterranean, Sardo Foods crafts its products to reminisce the genuine flavour as enjoyed overseas, but also seasons them to work with the slightly different North American palate. It’s the best of both worlds - and with Sardo’s commitment to sourcing its fruit from sustainable farmers it’s the best for our world, too.

SARDO Foods is a privately held company with more than 40 years of experience in manufacturing, sales and national distribution

Our focus, dedication and commitment have resulted in strong national brand recognition as well as significant private label production.

Our loyalty and dedication to customers have resulted in strong partnerships that have been beneficial to all parties involved, especially the consumer.

Sardo’s 200,000 square foot state-of-the-art manufacturing and warehousing facility produces more than 200 product lines.

We are CFIA, FDA, H.A.C.C.P. and SQF certified meaning that you and your customers can rest assured that our handling of each and every ingredient meets or exceeds the highest possible professional standards.